EASA Conversion Update

JAA  Licence:

JAR PPL. This licence has a five year life. JAR-FCL licences are no longer issued by Member States and the licence will have to be re-issued as an EASA licence to add a rating or when it expires.

While your JAA PPL is still valid and recognised as an EASA Part FCL licence, it will still expire on the date shown in the licence. It cannot now be re-issued or renewed as a JAA PPL, but must be submitted for conversion to an EASA-FCL licence, either at the end of its five year life or whenever any CAA action is required on the licence e.g. a change of address or the addition of an extra rating. If you intend to fly non-EASA aircraft which require a specific aircraft type rating (for example, a Catalina), these rarer type ratings for non-EASA aircraft cannot be held within an EASA licence, and therefore, if you have such ratings, then on conversion to an EASA licence, you need to also request a UK national licence to contain the non-EASA type rating. However, if you only fly aircraft within the SEP or MEP classes, or type-rated EASA aircraft, you do not require a second national licence, as an EASA licence can hold such ratings.

CAA ‘National’ Licence

If you are the holder of a UK CAA ‘National’ Licence, then your licence will no longer be valid for flying EASA aircraft from 8 April 2015 onwards. C152s and PA28s are included in the definition of EASA aircarft. In order to continue flying such aircraft beyond 8 April 2015, you will need to have converted over to an EASA Part-FCL licence.

Even before this date however there are further restrictions to be aware of that begin on 8 April 2014. Between the period from 8 April 2014 to 8 April 2015, holders of UK CAA ‘National’ Licences will be restricted to flying EASA aircraft in accordance with the privileges of a European Light Aircraft Pilot Licence (LAPL). This means you will be restricted to:

  • Private VFR operations
  • Flying a single engine aircraft of 2,000kgs MTOM or less
  • A maximum of 3 passengers
  • Flying without instrument or instructor / examiner privileges

Requirements to convert to an EASA licence:

You must have:

  • a current and valid Part Med Class 1, 2 or LAPL Medical certificate applicable to level of licence that you are applying for.
  • a current and valid language proficiency level acceptable to the UK CAA.

Converting to a LAPL requires a current and valid rating relevant to the privileges of the licence or undertake a proficiency check with an examiner.

If the licence you are converting has expired, we require the date of your last Pilot in Command flight using the privileges of this licence.

This conversion table shows how licences will be converted to meet EASA requirements.


The fee can vary and depends the type of licence that you hold and what you are converting to.

Conversion to an EASA Pilot Licence from a limited validity JAR or National Licence:

  • Professional Pilot’s Licence £139
  • Private Pilot’s Licence £73

Conversion of an Unlimited validity National UK Private Pilot’s Licence is £65
Conversion of a National Private Pilot’s Licence (NPPL) to an EASA Light Aircraft Pilot Licence (LAPL) £41

If you need a UK national licence to be issued to allow you to fly UK Annex II aircraft an additional charge of £35 applies.

Processing time (On receipt of all required information)

The CAA endeavour to process applications in 10 working days from receipt. Incomplete applications are not subject to the 10 working day turnaround until all application requirements are met.

Validity period

EASA-FCL licences have no expiry date and are therefore valid for the holder’s lifetime.


Required forms: SRG 1104SRG 1199

NOTE: SRG 1199 has to be signed by an examiner, Buster, Steve or Alec can do this for you.

You have to include certified copies of medical, ratings page and identity together with these forms. You can ask any instructor at Halton to certify these for you.